Pumpkin Patch fun!

So, I just thought I would post a little bit about our day out yesterday to the Pumpkin Patch…

Now, if you are thinking of heading to a pumpkin patch this time of year… (Obviously) then there are a couple things I highly recommend! Here’s the link to the website for the site we went to.  http://www.pumpkinpickingpatch.com, they cover a range of sites, but my local site is Sompting.  Entry to our local patch was free, but I think some of the sights do charge entry to over 2’s.  They do all sorts, including crafts, these activities are charged. They also offer food and drinks. So grab a warm coffee or hot choccy and walk around with it! 

1. WELLIES!!! I don’t own a pair of wellies, neither does Oaks yet… So we got incredibly muddy! Thankfully I wore a pair of shoes that I could just wipe clean, but oh my god the mud! I guess really it’s all part of the experience and fun! Oaks on the other hand wore a pair of non-wipe clean trainers… Hopefully I can just bash the mud out! If you don’t own a pair of boots then I suggest wearing shoes you don’t mind getting muddy and then take a spare pair for when you’re done! But I would definitely say wellies are a must. 

2. Do not, I repeat DO NOT take a pushchair… incase you skipped the previous paragraph MUD! lots and lots of MUD! I mean, if you don’t really care about covering your entire car, house and anything else it may touch in mud then go right a head. I would recommend taking a carrier or push them around in a wheelbarrow that they supply, mainly to put those mahoosive pumpkins in, but they work great for carting your kid around too. I would suggest putting a blanket in first, ideally one you don’t mind getting a bit muddy. 

3. Never fear! They take both cash and card payments! We completely forgot to run to a cash point before heading to the patch, so we were really cautious about how many pumpkins we were picking… Next time I don’t think I’ll hold back. Their pricing isn’t that much different to what you would pay in your local supermarket, but I feel more willing to pay the prices they charge because I see it more as the experiences, which I absolutely loved! It was so much fun. The little lot we bought, which is pictured below cost us about £25. I would not be willing to pay that for supermarket ones. 

4. Definitely take a camera! You can get some gorgeous photos. Unfortunately we didn’t get as many photos as I’d hoped, purely down to the fact Oaks will not bloody keep still. Now that he’s on the move, he’s gone! I’m lucky to keep him still for all of 0.3 seconds…

5. And finally… Just enjoy the family time. Yes, I know it’s bloody cliché but just have fun. being with the boys out in the fresh air was so good for the soul. Bar the fact it was so windy, It was  lovely walking through the field with everyone else walking around, seeing all the little kids getting excited over a vegetable!

Oaks loved looking at all the different varieties, which apparently there were over 30! In just the field we were in, white, grey, red, green… You name it! All different shapes and sizes. It was such a lovely time out, it was great seeing Oaks explore the great outdoors! Cannot wait to come back with him next year when he’s that little older and more understanding and we can walk about and talk where they come from. 

So, I hope you find this post at least a little bit helpful. I mean most of it is just common sense! Have a fabulous Halloween and enjoy your pumpkin pickin’.