5 ways of dealing with your mental health during lockdown.

Gooooood evening my beauties, I hope that you’re all well! I’m currently sat in my very windy garden enjoying the time away from Nathan shouting at COD…

As a lot of you know, my mental health has always been something I have been very open about from the beginning of my blog. So I thought I would share with you guys some of the ways I am dealing with those down days and hopefully they can help some of you too! I thought this would be a good time to post something in this realm to round off Mental Health Awareness Week. Let’s get going!

Keeping busy.

It’s probably one of the most obvious ways to keep your mental health stable, but sometimes it’s hard to stay focused on anything that isn’t your own anxiety at a time like this. Every attempt to disengage or take a break from the all-consuming panic and anxiety of not knowing what the hell is going on feels super scary. Some days are manageable. I guess in some respects I’m lucky that I have my little family around me, this is a big part of how I keep busy. Oak is SUPER full on… Like, I mean from the second he wakes up to the second he lays down and goes to sleep… I honestly don’t know how he does it! But he obviously takes up a lot my time during the day. We set up things for him to play with and we seem to have fallen into our own unplanned routine now that Nathan is home every single day… (How we have managed this long together and both still be living is a miracle)
The evenings tend to be the time things really seem to settle in, Oak is in bed, Nathan is more than likely playing COD online and me, I would normally just be sat by myself scrolling through online shop after shop filling basket after basket. Now more than ever I have found myself wanting to get creative, whether that be on the laptop creating content for Instagram, editing photos or sat doing some sewing, my new found love is embroidery. Let me tell you, it is sooooo therapeutic. Frustrating, but at the same time it has really helped me to relax and focus on something other that what is going on around me. I would highly recommend it! It’s honestly not as tricky as you think, I found it super easy to get started. I simply ordered a kit online for a few pounds and it came with everything that you need to get started! Who knows, it may be your newest hobby too!

Limit Social Media Time.

With more and more time on our hands, this is something easier said than done. Social Media can have such a huge impact on your mental health, sometimes it can be good, other times it can be the complete opposite.
As someone who is trying to build a platform on SM, it’s so easy to fall into a spiral of just comparing yourself to everyone you see in regards to the way you look, the way you live and the thing you do and don’t have. This is definitely one of the biggest downfalls of the SM world and its the one I hate the most.
No matter how much you tell yourself “it doesn’t matter, how they live/what they look like” etc, it’s still there. Forget all of that, because you are enough. Happy pictures don’t always tell the truth and that is what you need to remember. What is going on behind the camera. I now spend a little time each day or a day a week away from SM, spending proper time with Oak and Nathan. Making sure I focus on what is real right now. A change in mindset is really important. I’m slowly beginning to change mine and I’ve now whenever I see a post that takes be back to my old mindset, I simply scroll past, take no notice or I just UNFOLLOW. Why would you want to constantly see people in your feed who make you feel inadequate or less of your worth. Nah, you do not need that. I find it a big help when I spend time removing people from my feed who do not serve a positive purpose to my MH.

Limit your exposure to media stories about the pandemic, especially those with “experts” views about what is going to happen over the next three months, because it can cause anxiety. There is a lot of fake news circulating in the media recently, if you know reading an article is going to send you on your way to Anxiety City, try and steer away from it! I have found myself wanting to read less and less from the media and focus more on positive articles instead! Or just simply spend the time watching cute puppy videos in YouTube.

Ask for help.

We all sometimes get tired and feel super overwhelmed with our feelings and during Lockdown is no different, if anything now is the time to really make sure you are keeping an eye on these emotions. Never ever, ever be afraid to reach out and ask for help if you are struggling. Now more so than ever! Just because the world is going mad, doesn’t mean people aren’t going to be there for you when you need them! There are so many amazing support systems out there for you to reach out to. Even if it’s a phone call to your best friend. A social distancing walk and talk with a family member. Your GP is also still there for you. They will never not be. If you feel like things are spiralling out of your control they are there. There are people and networks they can put you in contact with.
Look online, if you feel as though it is something you can manage to do yourself then it is so easy to find resources online. Here are a couple of helpful links.
https://www.nhs.uk/conditions/stress-anxiety-depression/mental-health-helplines/
https://www.mind.org.uk/information-support/coronavirus/
https://youngminds.org.uk/find-help/for-parents/supporting-your-child-during-the-coronavirus-pandemic/

Sleep well, rest well.

Now, for a lot of us is the perfect time to get that extra, much needed rest. The ever-changing news can create a lot of stress, stress that gets amplified when you don’t get enough sleep. Having toddlers and snoring husbands can often make this task seems impossible. But it’s definitely something we should all take advantage of with the extra hands at home. Now is the time to “nap when the baby does” or get those early nights. Why not even come to an agreement with your other half in regards to sleep. It’s especially important now to get the recommended amount of sleep to help you stay focused on work and on managing the stress the current outbreak can bring. If you still find yourself too stressed to sleep, consider creating a new pre-bedtime routine, including a long bath with a relaxing face mask and a LUSH bath bomb. Or even a cup of caffeine-free herbal tea. I love to sit in bed and sip on a cup of mint green tea while playing a bit of Animal Crossing. Something else I’ve found helpful is try making a plan for the next day. This could include activities for for the kids, planning you meals or even a new route to take on your daily walk!

Take time for you.

With all the chaos going on, it’s so important to make time for you. Whether that be 5 extra minutes in the shower or bed to get your shit together so you can face the day or completely shutting yourself away from the world to be at one with your thoughts. There are various techniques and therapies you can safely practise on your own which can be super help full if you’re not wanting to wait for a Drs appointment or not wanting to take on meds. For example:

Relaxation. You may already know what helps you relax, like having a bath, listening to music or taking your dog for a walk. If you know that a certain activity helps you feel more relaxed, make sure you set aside time to do it. For me this has been my recent new hobby of embroidery, it honestly is so relaxing and I cannot recommend it enough!

Mindfulness. Mindfulness is a therapeutic technique that involves being more aware of the present moment. This can mean both outside, in the world around you, and inside, in your feelings and thoughts. Practising mindfulness can help you become more aware of your own moods and reactions, but not everyone finds mindfulness helpful. I would recommend looking up info and see if this is something for you!

Getting into nature. Getting out into a green environment, such as a park or the countryside, is especially good for you. Even if you don’t have a garden or aren’t very mobile, caring for plants or animals indoors can still help you get some benefits from nature, but remember to do this safely and be aware of those around you!

I hope that you can find these useful and help you cope during this crazy time! Just remember, you are not alone during all of this! There is always someone willing to help. No matter what.

Please do not hesitate to reach out! My inbox is always open ♥
Stay safe

Hannah xox

https://www.samaritans.org/

One thought on “5 ways of dealing with your mental health during lockdown.

  1. Wonderful post. Apart from the points, you made I would also like to stress the point of meditation. Nothing has helped me more than meditation. It makes a person calm and clears thoughts. It is nothing but amazing and also affirmation. Also as you mentioned keeping busy is very important otherwise I would have gone crazy and stressed out. Thanks for sharing this inspiring post.
    Best wishes from The Strong Traveller and have a great day
    Do have a look at my blog whenever you find the time. There are some travel and lifestyle content which you may find interesting. Your thoughts will surely be very valuable. Stay connected. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment